Where Do the Trainees Study?

Trainees are based in various schools in North Yorkshire.

There are opportunities to visit and work in schools in other more diverse areas during the spring and summer terms including a special educational needs school, a secondary school, schools with a number of EAL pupils (pupils with English as an additional language) and a placement in a pupil referral unit.

You will be placed for a main placement in one of the following schools.  Factors deciding which school you are placed in include your geographical location, your previous experience, your ability to travel as well as the school’s strengths and whether they feel able to take a trainee into the appropriate class.

Central training will be held at Harrogate Cricket Club pavilion, which is equipped with wi-fi, tea and coffee facilities and is a short walk from central Harrogate. This comfortable venue offers us a choice of training rooms with areas for quiet conversations as well as inspiring views.

The schools presently include:
  • All Saints C of E (VA) Primary School, Kirkby Overblow
  • Askwith Primary School
  • Beckwithshaw C P School
  • Bilton Grange Primary School
  • Burnsall C of E (VC) Primary School and Cracoe Rylstone C of E (VC) Primary School
  • Christchurch C of E (VC) Primary School
  • Cononley Community Primary School
  • Cowling Community Primary School
  • Dacre Braithwaite C E (VA) Primary School
  • Darley C P School
  • Embsay C of E (VC) Primary School
  • Errington Community Primary School
  • Fountains C of E (VC) Primary School
  • Glasshouse C of E Primary School
  • Glusburn Community Primary School
  • Goldsborough C of E (VC) Primary School
  • Grassington C of E (VC) Primary School
  • Grewelthorpe C E (VC) Primary School
  • Grove Road Community Primary School
  • Hawes Primary School
  • Kirkby Malzeard C of E (VC) Primary School
  • Leyburn Primary School
  • Lothersdale Primary School
  • North Rigton C of E (VC) Primary School
  • North Stainley C of E (VC) Primary School
  • Pannal Primary School
  • Richard Taylor Primary School
  • Saltergate Junior School
  • Saltergate Infant School
  • Sharow C E (VC) and Skelton Newby Hall C E (VC) Primary Schools
  • Sicklinghall C P School
  • Spofforth C of E (VC) Primary School
  • St Aidan’s C of E High School
  • St Nicholas C of E Primary School, West Tanfield
  • St Robert’s Catholic Primary School
  • St Stephen’s Roman Catholic Primary School
  • Sutton-In-Craven Community Primary School
  • Sutton in Craven C E (VC) Primary School
  • The Forest School
  • Waterstreet Community Primary School
  • Woodfield Community Primary School
  • Willow Tree Community Primary School


It really was a light bulb moment as I started to understand how the curriculum informs the assessment of each pupil which then feeds into planning which results in giving the pupils targets that they can meet every lesson.

Trainee 2015